The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Azerbaijan became a champion in a football tournament among Missions to the UN in Geneva. 28 april 2015

On 28 April 1920, the Soviet Russia occupied the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan which was the first Parliamentary Republic in the history of the people of Azerbaijan, the first democratic, legal and secular state in the whole East and Islamic world. After the Soviet occupation, the system of the independent state government which was established in Azerbaijan had been directly liquidated and in the territory of Azerbaijan, the Soviet Socialist Republic of Azerbaijan was appeared instead of the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan.

The facts illustrate that over the 70-years of the Soviet rule, Armenia expanded its territory at the expense of Azerbaijan and expelled the Azerbaijanis from their historical lands. During this period, this policy was implemented systematically and methodically. As a result, the territory of Azerbaijan, which in 1918-1920 constituted 114.000 sq.km, was reduced to 86.600 sq.km during the Soviet rule.

The 'Read Soviet Terror' occupied the whole territory of Azerbaijan. Everyone who struggled against the Soviet regime was the victim of the 'red terror' under the names of the 'national enemy', the 'anti-revolutionary' or the 'saboteur'.

However, these despicable acts could not prevent the intention of Azerbaijani people to be independence. On 20 January 1990, in a day which went down in history of the struggle for the freedom and territorial integrity of Azerbaijan as a heroism page, Azerbaijani people proved that no colonial or repression regime, how cruel it might be, is in power to crush liberty ideals and state traditions of Azerbaijani people. As a result of the brave struggle of the Azerbaijani people we restored our independence and Azerbaijan became a real sovereign State.

Search in archive